Welcome!

Welcome to Deep Green Thoughts. This is my personal blog, and does not represent the opinions of my employer, Novell. These are my thoughts. All mine. Just what I have to say. Nothing else. I hope you find it amusing, entertaining, or otherwise interesting. If not, well, I’m sorry. 🙂

I decided to write this blog at the good suggestion of my friend, Reverend Ted Haeger. Ted’s a great open source marketing guy, and he told me that I needed to get the word out about what I think about Linux and open source. I’m not sure I believe him or not. 😉

For those of you wondering exactly who I am, my day job is the Director of Marketing for Linux and Open Platform Solutions at Novell. That means I get to spend my days (and nights and weekends) marketing SUSE Linux Enterprise 10 — the platform for the Open Enterprise. I love my job and I love Linux and I love my SUSE Linux Enterprise Desktop — the most rockin’ desktop on the market today.

When I’m not at work, I spend my time trying to be a good father to my daughter, Leah, and a good husband to my wife, Tammy. I’m also a crazy Red Sox fan and Fantasy Football player.

So enough about me… what do I plan to use this site to do? Hopefully, I will be a regular poster where I can talk about trends in open source, marketing, and the combination thereof. I’ll try to give you a little insight into what’s happening inside of Novell with Linux marketing and hopefully, I will hear back from you about what you like and what you don’t like about our marketing.

Finally, I’ll try to keep my posts short.

Till next time,

js

Leave a Reply

